Tuesday, July 16, 2024 

PARIS, JEFF - Freak Flag ( Remastered + 1 )
Freak Flag“, the fifth album from Jeff Paris, was originally released in 1998, now it finally gets officially released in Europe. It would have been a shame if the album would remain reserved to the Japanese fans, because it’s much better than the so so predecessor “Smack” (1997). For the most part, “Freak Flag” delivers anthemic US Melodic Hard Rock in the vein that bands like ALICE COOPER, KISS, DAMN YANKEES or FIREHOUSE released in the 1980’s. The certain something about this album is the various guest singers that Jeff Paris shares vocals with: Juno Roxas (ROXUS), Derek Davis (BABYLON A.D.), Rick ‘Moon’ Calhoun (Michael Thompson) and Neville MacDonald (SKIN). So it takes till song # 6, “White People”, when Jeff Paris sings lead vocals for the first time. The guest singers are very positive for the vibe of the album because their very different voices leave a special mark on the individual songs. The album’s best tracks are the rough “Invisible Man”, the beautiful AOR ballad “Tomorrow May Be Too Late”, the slightly oriental “Fuel To Your Fire” and the fast-paced “Freedom Road”. The AOR HEAVEN CLASSIX version of “Freak Flag” features some very interesting liner notes, a remastered sound and the bonus track “Hygiene” which is a light-footed Rock-Pop song that would fit perfectly on any NELSON record. If you don’t have “Freak Flag” yet, then it’s time to finally fill the gap in your collection! M. SPÄTH
$29.99 $29.99

Sub-Total: $29.99

© Copyright 2001