PRICE: $15.99
ITEM IN STOCK (Ready to ship within 24 hours)

AXE - Offering - Remastered -

Fully Remastered Audio / Florida''''s cleaver wielding quintet sharpen their sound for album #3 / Produced by Al Nalli (Blackfoot, Brownsville Station, MORE) / Includes ''''Now Or Never'''', ''''Burn The City Down'''' & ''''Rock ''''N'''' Roll Party In The Streets'''' / 12 page full-colour booklet, 3,000 word essay & enhanced artwork THE NAME AXE probably conjures up visions of a seething and full-on heavy metal band and, although there''''s nothing wrong with that, this band are far more nuanced. In fact, the band''''s music, whilst definitely hard rock, is imbued with accessible elements of melody and precision. The songs are well written and produced, with the apparent acknowledgement of a need to advance their craft towards a classy, perhaps more commercial, focal point. Guitarist and vocalist Bobby Bath formed the band in Gainsville, Florida during the late seventies. Initially named Babyface, they mutated into Axe after a couple of years and signed to MCA, issuing two reasonably well received albums of pomp/melodic rock before switching record label to Atco records and releasing ''''Offerring'''' in 1982. Produced by manager Al Nalli (well known for his association with Blackfoot), the record gave the band a new lease of life and attracted praise for it''''s direct approach and concise song writing. It was also a record that found the band playing to bigger audiences in the USA, supporting the Scorpions, KISS and Judas Priest, whilst attracting unexpected airplay with songs such as ''''Rock ''''N'''' Roll Party In The Streets'''' and ''''Now Or Never''''. It also includes a superlative cover of the Montrose classic ''''I Got The Fire'''', which manages to burn as brightly as the original. Dipping back into their more complex previous music, the six minute long ''''Silent Soldiers'''' showcases the band in full-on pomp rock glory but with a much heavier edge than they had before.

1 Rock ''''N'''' Roll Party in the Streets
2 Video Inspiration
3 Steal Another Fantasy
4 Jennifer
5 I Got the Fire
6 Burn the City Down
7 Now or Never
8 Holdin'''' on
9 Silent Soldiers