PRICE: $14.99

MICK MARS - The Other Side Of Mars

2024 release. When Mick Mars stepped back from touring with Mötley Crüe - the band he co- founded more than 40 years ago - following their massive summer 2022 Stadium Tour, it seemed like the end of an era. Really, it was the beginning of a new one. The legendary guitarist, whose riffs, solos and overall devastatingly heavy sound powered the L.A. icons through four decades of world-conquering, multi-platinum sonic mayhem is, as he demonstrates on his debut solo effort, still a serious force to be reckoned with. Only now, listeners are reckoning with more Mars than ever before. On the aptly-titled The Other Side of Mars, fans get that vision in it''''''''s full, multifarious glory. To be sure, there are plenty of characteristically riff-tastic, tough-as-nails hard-rock anthems (the rampaging "Loyal to the Lie," the deep-in-the-pocket groove-rocker "Ain''''''''t Going Back," the hooky and melodic "Right Side of Wrong") to be heard on the record. But The Other Side of Mars also shows the 71-year-old guitarist heading into new and uncharted territory, tearing through caustic, modern metal ("Broken On the Inside"), conjuring gothic-tinged soundscapes ("Undone"), digging into anguished, slow-burning power balladry ("Killing Breed") and unspooling bluesy, cinematic instrumental workouts (the album-closing guitar showcase, "L.A. Noir").

1 Loyal to the Lie
2 Broken on the Inside
3 Alone
4 Killing Breed
5 Memories
6 Right Side of Wrong
7 Ready to Roll
8 Undone
9 Ain''''''''t Going Back
10 La Noir